Look at this tiny, tiny doll that I made!

I got this as a kit for Christmas. My husband knows what to get me 🙂

It’s a kit for a doll’s house doll’s doll, and, when it’s finished, the doll stands just an inch and three quarters high.

I took some photos as I made it (sorry the quality is a bit poor – I was too keen on making the doll to check to see if the photos were coming out OK).

This is what you get in the kit – a 12 page booklet, a jointed porcelain doll, and several bags of tiny bits of stuff!
This gives you an idea of how tiny the doll is. Yup. Weeny!
The doll with her underwear made, her shoes on, and her swagged skirt assembled
An hour or so later, and I’d made her panelled coat, and glued the ‘fur’ trim around the edges
Her sleeves were glued on next, then the cape, and short lengths of viscose ringlets for her hair (well, most of her hair – at this point, she looked more like a judge than a doll)
She looked much more attractive once I’d cut very short lengths of the viscose ringlets and ‘filled in’ the top of her head!
The finished doll, complete with her pleated bonnet, standing next to my latest needlepoint sampler
…and this is how she looks from the back

I really enjoyed making this little doll. The instructions looked a bit daunting at first, as they’re so long, but really that’s better, beacuse it means every stage is described in detail, so you can’t very easily go wrong (unless you glue her head to your thumb, which I did at one point). I altered a couple of things (I left the ‘bustle bow’ off the back, for instance, and the cream bow that’s supposed to go under her chin – that was because I’d stuck the cape on a bit high, so there wasn’t room left to add it, really). The components were all labelled clearly in tiny plastic bags.

The kit was a limited edition Christmas doll by Sandra Morris of Tower House Dolls –  she’s still got some for sale on her site, as well as lots of others, including bride dolls. You can buy them as kits, or ready made. I’m very tempted to get some more for the nursery in my doll’s house, now …..

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Dollhouse Needlepoint newsletter sign-up invitation

One thought on “Look at this tiny, tiny doll that I made!”

  1. She’s lovely Janet…. you made a really good job of her!

    I’m so pleased that enjoyed making the kit and thanks for the glowing review 🙂

    Sandra

Leave a comment