A huge list of websites that sell doll’s houses and miniature 1:12 accessories, to get you started in the hobby!

Since changing the focus of this blog from just being about embroidery, to also covering my hobby (and business) of 1:12 doll’s houses, several people have contacted me to ask how they get started in this hobby. ‘Where are the best places to buy miniature things?’ is the question I am being asked the most.

So, I’m going to give you a HUGE list of websites that sell doll’s houses and miniature 1:12 accessories. These are the ones that I like – most of them are in the UK, as I am English, but I do buy from anywhere in the world, if that’s what I need to do to get exactly what I want for my three doll’s houses. Miniaturists are known to be rather particular! In the list below, the websites can be assumed to be in the UK unless a country is listed beside the name. It’s worth noting though, that these days about 99% of websites will ship anywhere in the world, so it’s not usually a problem if a supplier isn’t based in the same country as you. It just means that you might have to wait a bit longer for your parcel to arrive, there may be import taxes to pay, and of course, shipping will be higher from another country. But I’ve found that it’s not worth compromising on what you really want, in the long run.

In the list below, I have roughly grouped the themes of what the websites sell together, but it’s a good idea to browse each site anyway, as many sellers have diverse items (many unique), and I can’t describe everything that they sell, here  🙂 Also, I can’t, obviously, include absolutely every doll’s house website on the planet – this list covers my favourites only, and I have bought – or intend to buy soon – from all of these.

One thing that I have found very useful when I’m browsing websites for ideas for my doll’s houses is to save images of things that I like to a specific Pinterest board, so that I have a visual ‘shopping list’ for later. Here’s my one for my doll’s house toy shop, and the one for my miniature French cafe, to show you what I mean. As I actually buy things, I move the image to the board ‘Dollhouse miniatures I’ve bought now‘, so that I can remember what I’ve bought, and who I bought it from! Some people say I’m over-organised, but I don’t agree….

Remember that many businesses these days have Facebook pages and blogs as well as websites that they sell from – here, I’ve only listed the websites.

So, get yourself a coffee, and have a good look through this list, for ideas to get you started on the wonderful hobby of twelfth scale doll’s houses!

GENERAL

Melody Jane Dolls Houses. Stocks over 3000 items.

melody-jane-dolls-houses_400
Melody Jane Dolls Houses

My Tiny World. Stocks over 14000 items.

Petit Connoisseurs. (South Africa) Many unusual miniatures from all over the world. Many dolls, toys, one-off items, and some vintage too.

Jennifers of Walsall. Large range of items, including lots of wallpapers and fabrics.

jennifers-of-walsall_400
Jennifers of Walsall

Phoenix Model Developments. White metal kits to make all kinds of accessories.

Sussex Crafts. Quality household items. Many fireplaces and metal items.

Newtonwood Miniatures. Unusual household miniatures.

Karon Cunningham Miniatures. High quality items from a large range of miniaturists from all over the world. Many toys.

karon-cunningham_400
Karon Cunningham Miniatures

Dolls House Emporium. Good budget range for those starting in the hobby. Very large website. Over 6000 items.

Streets Ahead. Good budget range for those starting in the hobby. You can download a pdf catalogue from their website, but they don’t sell direct to the public – only via shops and other website businesses. There is a good list of stockists on their website, to help you locate your nearest shop.

Maple Street Miniatures. Good budget range for those starting in the hobby. Very large website. Stockist of Sid Cooke dolls house kits (my Edwardian toy shop is a Sid Cooke one).

Wonham Collection. Over 2000 items. Good budget range for those starting in the hobby. Very large website.

Minimum World. Large range of budget to medium priced furniture and accessories.

Dollshouse Mania. Over 12000 items in stock. Stockists of Jia Yi high quality furniture.

Art of Mini. (Germany). Many interesting and unusual items, many as kits. Flower kits, glass items, ephemera, etc. Website has an English translation.

Art of Mini
Art of Mini

MINIATURE EMBROIDERY / NEEDLEPOINT

Janet Granger Designs. (Well, I would put my own website on this list, wouldn’t I?!) Almost 300 kits and charts for all kinds of 1:12 miniature needlepoint – carpets, bellpulls, chairs, Christmas stockings, handbags, etc. 18 count canvas to 40 count silk gauze.

group-shot-2012-oct
My website – Janet Granger Designs

CURTAINS

Curtains-Petite. Custom curtains made to your own measurements or ready-made.

Tanya Shevtsova Miniature Curtains. (Russia). Beautiful, fancy gathered curtains and pelmets.

Tanya Shevtsova
Tanya Shevtsova

MiniChris. Pleated curtains and roller blinds – ready made or custom sizes.

LIGHTING

Ray Storey Lighting.  Finely made working lights with glass shades, historically accurate.

Ray Storey Lighting
Ray Storey Lighting

Micro Miniatures. Lighting systems.

FOOD
Paris miniatures. My favourite maker of food in the world! French style patisserie is their speciality. Whole large cakes, ones with a slice taken out, and ‘cakes for one’. Christmas, Halloween, Easter and Valentine’s Day ‘special ranges’ brought out each year as limited editions.

Paris Miniatures
Paris Miniatures

BUILDING SUPPLIES, WOOD, PAINT, etc

W. Hobby Ltd. Kits, paints, wood strip and mouldings. Large range.

Hobbies of Dereham. Kits, paints, wood strip and mouldings. Large range.

Replicast. Plaster fireplaces, ceiling roses, mouldings, etc.

Replicast
Replicast

Stacey’s Miniature Masonry (was ‘Richard Stacey’). Brick and stone cladding (real and ‘slips’ made from textured card), and roof slates.

Bromley Craft Products. Lighting, building materials, real wood flooring, etc.

Jaspers Miniatures. Many items for building/finishing, inc. real wood flooring.

Little Green Workshop. DIY materials, lighting systems, transformers, etc.

PLATES/CUPS & SAUCERS

Twelve Times More Teeny. (Spain). Transfer-decorated plates, cups and saucers – amazing detail, large range.

A Lavender Dilly. (Australia). Transfer-decorated plates, cups and saucers – amazing detail, large range. Also cafe signs.

A Lavender Dilly
A Lavender Dilly

SHABBY CHIC ITEMS

Sarahs Lil Essentials. Cafe signs, accessories and furniture in shabby chic style.

HOUSES

Dolls House Direct. Houses, shops and room boxes. My miniature French style cafe/florist’s shop kit (‘Malbury’) was bought from here.

Maple Street for Sid Cooke houses. Huge range of houses, furniture and accessories. They bought up the Sid Cooke business in 2016, and are gradually revamping the range and will have the whole range of shops and houses available for sale as kits or ready-built as soon as possible.

FURNITURE

McQueenie Miniatures. Fine quality miniature furniture  and kits, mainly in mahogany. Also make a gypsy caravan.

Manchester Miniatures. (USA) Kits and ready made, among a large range of items. I bought the tables for my French cafe from here (as kits).

Meirucorp Store. (China) Huge range of quite fancy/decorated furniture, similar to Bespaq.

Meirucorp
Meirucorp

Dream Home Miniatures. Official Supplier of Jia Yi dolls house furniture and miniatures for the UK, Ireland and Northern Europe.

Wooden House Miniatures. Simple furniture, ‘country’ painted pine.

Escutcheon Miniatures. Finely made furniture in yew and mahogany.

Escutcheon
Escutcheon

Ann High. Quality carved furniture.

MICRO DOLLS FOR DOLL’S HOUSE DOLLS (under two inches high)

Tower House Dolls. Finished dolls and doll kits for Jumeau and other style ‘antique looking’ dolls – very prettily dressed. Also many other kinds of toys, such as pull-along animals, Alice in Wonderland themed toys, etc.

Tower House Dolls
Tower House Dolls

Diane Yunnie. (South Africa). Very pretty Jumeau-style porcelain dolls; also doll’s prams.

Debbie Dixon-Paver. (South Africa). Finely made little dolls, very collectable! Also makes women, men and child dolls in 1:12 scale.

Ethel Hicks’ Angel Children. (USA). Artist dolls in a distinctive style.

Jan Althouse. (USA). Really, really tiny dolls – under an inch high! Have to be seen to be believed.

DOLLS, ADULT & CHILD, 1:12 SCALE

Angelique Miniatures   Hand-crafted character dolls from ALL historical periods

World of My Own. Women, men and child dolls, character dolls, doll kits.

PLANTS (both KITS and FINISHED)

The Miniature Garden. Paper flower kits.

Templewood Miniatures. Flower kits (also 1/144 scale houses).

Lamis Minis. (Germany) Paper flower kits.

Mi Patio Escondido. (Spain) Paper flower kits. To order, email a list of what you’d like, and they will send a Paypal invoice.

Mi Patio Escondido
Mi Patio Escondido

BOOKS/EPHEMERA

The Linen Press. Books, building blocks, packs of cards, calendars, etc.

TOYS

Tower House Dolls. Porcelain dolls, pull-along toys, Alice in Wonderland items, toy theatres, Jack-in-the-box, pierrot dolls, etc.

Artisanos Felipe Royo. (Spain) Wide range of toys, dolls, etc., such as a hobby horse, artist dolls, fort. Also high quality furniture.

Severn Models. 1/144 scale houses (doll’s houses for doll’s houses) made from brass sheet, to be assembled and painted.

Severn Models
Severn Models

Petite Properties Ltd. 1/144 scale houses (doll’s houses for doll’s houses), to be assembled and painted.

Sally Reader Miniatures. Toys.

Roberson Miniatures. Very finely made, historically accurate prams.

Roberson Miniatures
Roberson Miniatures

Valerie Casson.  Toys, nursery furniture, ark, soldiers.

Veronique Lux. (France) Toys, tiny houses, felted toy animals.

WICKER ITEMS

Wicker Miniature. (Russia). Baskets, conservatory furniture, nursery furniture, bookcases.

Also, try these magazines:

Artisans in Miniature (Online group for the ‘mini artisan’ community, which professional miniaturists can belong to). Its website has a good section of ‘Member profiles‘, giving details of what their members make, sorted by theme, with links to their websites, blogs, etc. They publish a really good, free online magazine for the public every couple of months, with a huge back issue section on the website also.

Dolls House and Miniature Scene Magazine.

Dolls House World Magazine.

American Miniaturist Magazine. (USA)

Dolls House Nederland. (Netherlands)

1 zu 12. (Germany)

SEE ALSO…..

Pinterest is an amazing resource for doll’s house images. Not all images found on Pinterest link back to shop websites – for instance, many are from blogs (but they are also interesting!). I have found that the search results are far better if you use keywords such as ‘1:12’ rather than ‘doll’s house’, for some reason.

 

Good luck with your browsing!

Please note: These websites were active as at February 2017 – if you find a link that doesn’t work, please let me know by emailing janet@janetgranger.co.uk, and I’ll update the list. Thanks!

Also: I can only add websites to this list if I personally have bought from them. By all means contact me to let me know of good ones, but this list is of my personal favourites, not a general ‘free advertisement’ directory.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Are you interested in doll’s houses and stitching? Then why not visit my website, where you can buy doll’s house needlepoint kits to make all kinds of soft furnishings for one-twelfth scale dollhouses. There are over 280 kits to choose from, plus chart packs, fabric project packs, tutorials, and lots of eye candy to inspire you! Kits are available on 18 and 22 count canvas, 28 and 32 count evenweave, and 32 and 40 count silk gauze, so there’s something for everyone – from beginners to experts.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Dollhouse Needlepoint newsletter sign-up invitation

 

 

11 thoughts on “A huge list of websites that sell doll’s houses and miniature 1:12 accessories, to get you started in the hobby!”

  1. I am looking for a glue for fabric which does not stain. I tried a couple in the past, but both stained the cloth in spite of claiming otherwise. Do you know of any fabric glues and fabric glue sprays which dry clear and without staining swatches or any other fabrics? I thought that in your miniature hobby you might have come across some. I would be particularly interested in permanent fabric glue sprays for cards, for instance.

  2. Thanks for the great list Janet. I have been doing miniatures for over 20 years and you have listed sites that I’ve never come across. I will check them out for my 1:12th scale projects, although now I do mainly 1:48 scale. There’s lots I can add to my ‘big’ mini projects 🙂

  3. This is going to be a very dangerous list!! Dangerous for my wallet!! I’ve already copied you and bought some things you featured and others when I got to the website… dear me… 😉

    1. Oh dear! Sorry! (Well, I’m not, actually, because I want people to find out about these artisans, and I want the artisans to stay in business, and I want people to have lovely things, and……)

Leave a comment