I’m on a Sufi Retreat

More when I get home…

UPDATE 1st March 2010: OK, so I’m home now, so I’d better explain! I was at a three-day break at Wistaston Hall Retreat Centre at Crewe in Cheshire at the weekend. Forty people met up to do Dances of Universal Peace (many being dances from the Buddhist and Aramaic Christian traditions, as that fitted with this year’s theme), meditations, and so on, in a wonderfully relaxing atmosphere.  The weekend was led by Saadi Neil Douglas-Klotz and Tansen Philip O’Donohoe.

Wistaston Hall Retreat Centre, Crewe, Cheshire

At the Centre, there was a room with computers for the use of guests – and one of the other people staying there  (hello, Fateah!) was interested in having a blog, so I showed her how easy WordPress blogs are to use. But I didn’t have time to do much, other than demonstrate how quickly you can put up a new post – hence the brief original entry!

The retreat itself was very refreshing and uplifting. I find doing the Dances gives me very intense feelings which work themselves out through my creative designing. So, after each retreat or single dance day that I go to, I get a ‘burst’ of energy that inspires me to design more embroidery, or plan something new that I don’t think would have emerged otherwise.

To anyone who was there at the weekend – thanks for being part of something very special.

2 thoughts on “I’m on a Sufi Retreat

  1. contoveros

    I took my first class on Sufi. Learned how to “whirl.” Stomach has not caught up to the rest of me. Feel a little dizzy. Even drunk, without the booze.

    I feel light and happy. Kinda “stupid happy,” if you know what I mean.

    thanks for insight.

    michael j
    Conshohocken, PA USA

    Reply
  2. Janet Granger Post author

    Michael,

    I haven’t tried ‘turning’ yet, but my teacher says that the knack to not getting dizzy is to get your concentration from your head, to your heart. Then, you’ll be so centred, that you can do it for about an hour (apparently!!).

    I know the feeling of ‘stupid happy’ really well – I get that feeling from doing the Dances.

    Good to hear from you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

